Constituency of Nepal

Nepal is a small country with a total area of 1,47,181 square kilometers. It occupies 0.3 percent land of in Asia and 0.03 percent land of in the world. Nepal is a landlocked country sharing a border with India from the east, south & west, and with China from the North. Despite being such a small country, Nepal has quite a large number of representatives in the federal parliament and local bodies. The constituency of Nepal is designed in such a way that it has an upper house called as National Assembly, a Lower house called as house of Representatives (HOR), and Local bodies. There are 59 members in National Assembly, 275 Members in HOR, 550 in Provincial Assembly, and 753 local bodies. 

The constituency of Nepal has been discussed in part 8 articles 84,85,86, and part 9 of the constitution of Nepal 2072.  Elections in Nepal are conducted in three phases: Local Government Election, Federal Parliament (HOR) Election, and Provincial Assembly Election. From the below picture, you will get an overview of the Constituency of Nepal.

Constituency of Nepal

As per the constitution, the above constituency can’t be altered or modified for 20 years i.e. 2037. The first election held was in 2017 after the constitution 2072 was enacted. Federal Parliament above denotes the lower house direct elected by the public.

Federalism & Federal structure of Parliament of Nepal

Nepal is a federal state where power is divided between the center and local bodies. Federalism costs much more to run a government, especially for a small country like Nepal. Nepal consists of 7 provinces, 77 districts, 753 local bodies, and a total of 6,743 wards. We have to tell this while talking about the constituency of Nepal.

Federal Parliament Structure

The federal parliament of Nepal consists of two houses; the Upper House and the Lower House. The Upper House is also called as National assembly & Lower house called as House of Representatives. There are 59 Members in National Assembly including 3 elected by the president on government recommendation. National Assembly includes 3 Women, 1 Dalit, and 1 must be disabled. There are 275 Members of HOR 165 elected directly by first-past-the-post constituencies and 110 Members are selected on a proportional representation.

National Assembly called Rastriya Sabha (राष्ट्रिय सभा) in Npeali. House of Representatives also called Pratinidhi Sabha (प्रतिनिधि सभा) in Nepali.

Representative of Constituency of Nepal

This is an interesting part of the article. There are more representative members than you think are in Nepal. Let’s check out the total representative members in Nepal.

  • National Assembly: National Assembly contains 59 Members which contains 8 from each province and 3 are elected by the president on government recommendation.
  • House of Representatives: HOR is the main government in Nepal and it has 275 members. 165 are elected directly first-past-the-post and 110 are from proportional representation.
  • Provincial Assembly: Provincial Assembly contain 550 members out of which 330 were elected from first past the post by the public and 220 members will be elected through proportional representation
  • 753 Local Bodies: Local bodies have 753 Mayors, 753 Deputy Mayors, 6743 ward chairmen, and 26,972 Members.


Representative of Constituency of Nepal

Nepal has a total of 36,105 elected representatives (some directly and some under proportional representation).

You might wonder how many members are in Ward

There are 5 members in the ward out of which 1 is the chairman or head called ward adhyaksha (वाडा अध्याक्ष) in Nepali. Two are general members, 1 Member represent woman and 1 from Dalit.

The constituency of Nepal: Pratinidhi Sabha seats (HOR)

Pratinidhi Sabha is the main legislative in Nepal that forms the government and makes & amends the law. Here are the districts and province-wise seats for Pratinidhi Sabha Election. It has a total of 275 memebs out of which 165 are elected under first past the post by the public.

Province & Seats

Name of Province FPTPSeats
Province No. 1 28
Madhesh Pradesh 32
Bagmati Pradesh 33
Gandaki Pradesh 18
Lumbini Pradesh 26
Karnali Pradesh 12
Sudur Paschim Pradesh 16
Total 165


Districts & Seats

Districts Name FPTP Seats
Bhojpur District 1
Dhankuta District 1
Ilam District 2
Jhapa District 5
Khotang District 1
Morang District 6
Okhaldhunga District 1
Panchthar District 1
Sankhuwasabha District 1
Solukhumbu District 1
Sunsari District 4
Taplejung District 1
Terhathum District 1
Udayapur District 2
Saptari District 4
Siraha District 4
Dhanusa District 4
Mahottari District 4
Sarlahi District 4
Bara District 4
Parsa District 4
Rautahat District 4
Sindhuli District 2
Ramechhap District 1
Dolakha District 1
Bhaktapur District 2
Dhading District 2
Kathmandu District 10
Kavrepalanchok District 2
Lalitpur District 3
Nuwakot District 2
Rasuwa District 1
Sindhupalchok District 2
Chitwan District 3
Makwanpur District 2
Baglung District 2
Gorkha District 2
Kaski District 3
Lamjung District 1
Manang District 1
Mustang District 1
Myagdi District 1
Nawalpur District 2
Parbat District 1
Syangja District 2
Tanahun District 2
Kapilvastu District 3
Parasi District 2
Rupandehi District 5
Arghakhanchi District 1
Gulmi District 2
Palpa District 2
Dang District 3
Pyuthan District 1
Rolpa District 1
Eastern Rukum District 1
Banke District 3
Bardiya District 2
Western Rukum District 1
Salyan District 1
Dolpa District 1
Humla District 1
Jumla District 1
Kalikot District 1
Mugu District 1
Surkhet District 2
Dailekh District 2
Jajarkot District 1
Kailali District 5
Achham District 2
Doti District 1
Bajhang District 1
Bajura District 1
Kanchanpur District 3
Dadeldhura District 1
Baitadi District 1
Darchula District 1
Total 165


The constituency of Nepal: Provincial Assembly Seats

Provincial Assembly has 550 seats out of which 330 are elected under first past the post by the public and 220 by proportional representation.

Province FPTP Seats PR Seats
Province No. 1 56 37
Madhesh Province 64 43
Bagmati Province 66 44
Gandaki Province 36 24
Lumbini Province 52 35
Karnali Province 24 16
Sudurpashchim Province 32 21
Total 330 220



Hope you got some idea about the constituency of Nepal. Please share your thoughts in the below comment and correct if there is any update in information. If you want us to write more articles like this, then share topics in our mail or in the comment section below. Note these topics are important for loksewa exams.

Also, check

77 districts with their headquarters names

Upcoming IPOs in Nepal