Nepal Voted Against Russia at UN general Assembly 77th Session

In October 2022, the Donetsk, Luhansk, Kherson, and Zaporizhzhia regions of Ukraine were formally annexed by a unanimous vote of the Russian parliament. This is what Russia officially announced. Nepal voted against Russia in the 77th UN General Assembly. Out of 183 countries, 143 countries voted against Russia, 5 voted in favor of Russia and 35 countries abstained. Surprisingly India, China & Pakistan abstained from the resolution.

UN GA Voting Results on 4 Region Annexation by russia, Nepal voted Against Russia

Source: UN

By a wide margin, the UN General Assembly adopted a resolution on Wednesday urging nations to refuse to recognize the four areas of Ukraine that Russia has annexed as a result of phony elections held late last month. The resolution also urged Moscow to abandon its “attempted unlawful annexation.”


UK & US Already Pushing Nepal to Vote Against Russia

We all have heard the news regarding UK & US lobbying Nepal to vote against Russia. Now, the stand of Nepal was also pretty clear. Nepal always stays in favor of dialogue and diplomacy and Nepal’s foreign policy also remains the same. Like all countries, Nepal also has some interest in being dependent on so many things from other countries.

In Past also Nepal voted against Russia and condemn the ongoing war between Russia & Ukraine. The world is already paying the price of war, especially the developing and underdeveloped countries.


What will Happen Now?

This is a major defeat for Russia. The Donetsk, Kherson, Luhansk, and Zaporizhzhia areas are temporarily occupied by Russia as a result of aggression, breaching Ukraine’s territorial integrity, sovereignty, and political independence, according to the resolution “defending the values” of the UN Charter. UN will not recognize the part as Russian territory.

In reality and on the ground it will remain with Russia though. Unless some breakthrough and diplomatic talk will happen between Russia and Ukraine.

In the end, Nepal including 142 others voted against Russia and will not recognize the areas of Ukraine that are temporarily occupied by Russia.


Also, Check

Vacancy in Madhesh Pradesh Lok Sewa