Nepal Map with Provinces

About Nepal

Nepal Map with Provinces: The landlocked nation of Nepal is made up of many different ethnic groups and is home to many different languages and religions. It is located in the Himalayas, north of India, in the area where the Indian subcontinent collided with Asia some 40–50 million years ago. Nepal boasts some of the tallest mountains in the world as a result of that event, notably Sagarmatha (Mt. Everest, 8848m, which it shares with Tibet) (by now a province of China). Above populous lowlands and wooded plains, the tallest peak in the world dominates the landscape. There is a location named Lumbini in the Kapilavastu area where it is believed that Queen Mayadevi gave birth to Siddhartha Gautama, often known as Buddha, in the year 500 BC.

The lowland, the middle, and the highlands are the three main ecological regions of Nepal. The Himalayan area, also known as the highlands, has an altitude range of 4877 m to 8848 m and is home to 8 of the world’s 14 tallest peaks, including Mount Everest, which is over 8,000 meters high. The Mahabharat range, which rises to a height of 4877 m, and the lower Churia range make up the Lower Himalayan region, which makes up around 64 percent of the entire land area (Sivalik Hills). About 17% of the country’s total geographical area is made up of the lowland Terai, the Ganges’ flat river plain surrounded by a band of marshy grasslands, savannas, and woodlands.

Seven provinces of Nepal

In line with Schedule 4 of the Nepali Constitution, provinces were established in Nepal. The seven provinces were formed by combining the previous districts; two districts—Nawalparasi and Rukum—were split between two provinces. Local units exist in each district. There are 460 village councils, 276 municipal councils, 6 metropolises, and eleven sub-metropolises in Nepal.  A previous division of Nepal into 14 administrative zones, which were then combined into five development areas, was superseded by the current system of seven provinces.

The interim headquarters of the seven provinces were proclaimed by the Nepali government in January 2016. [4] Article 295 (2) states that a two-thirds vote of the legislature of each province will decide the provinces’ official names.

You can see the province here with their name, capital, populations and areas.

S.N Province Capital Districts Area Populations


1. Province 1. Biratnagar 14 25,905km² 4,972,021
2. Madhesh Province Janakpur 8 9,661km² 6,126,288
3. Bagmati Province Hetauda 13 20,300km² 6,084,042
4. Gandaki Province Pokhara 11 21,504km² 2,479,745
5. Lumbini Province Deukhuri 12 22,288km² 5,124,225
6. Karnali Province Birendranagar 10 27,984km² 1,694,889
7. Sudurpashchim Province Dhangadhi 9 19,915km² 2,711,270


Click the link below to view the map; Nepal Map with Provinces

Districts Name of each province

Province 1: – There are fourteen districts in Pradesh 1. The district names are shown below.

  1. Ilam
  2. Bhojpur
  3. Dhankuta
  4. Jhapa
  5. Khotang
  6. Morang
  7. Okhaldhunga
  8. Panchthar
  9. Sankhuwasabha
  10. Solukhumbu
  11. Sunsari
  12. Taplejung
  13. Terhathum
  14. Udayapur

 Madhesh Province: – There are 8 districts in Madhesh Pradesh. The district names are shown below.

  1. Saptari
  2. Siraha
  3. Dhanusa
  4. Mahottari
  5. Sarlahi
  6. Bara
  7. Parsa
  8. Rautahat

Bagmati Province: – There are 13 districts in Bagmati Pradesh. The district names are shown below.

  1. Sindhuli
  2. Ramechhap
  3. Dolakha
  4. Bhaktapur
  5. Dhading
  6. Kathmandu
  7. Kavrepalanchok
  8. Lalitpur
  9. Nuwakot
  10. Rasuwa
  11. Sindhupalchok
  12. Chitwan
  13. Makwanpur

Gandaki Province: – There are 11 districts in Bagmati Pradesh. The district names are shown below.

  1. Gorkha
  2. Kaski
  3. Lamjung
  4. Syangja
  5. Tanahu
  6. Manang
  7. Nawalpur
  8. Baglung
  9. Myagdi
  10. Parbat
  11. Mustang

Lumbini Province: – There are 12 districts in Bagmati Pradesh. The district names are shown below.

  1. Kapilvastu
  2. Parasi
  3. Rupandehi
  4. Arghakhanchi
  5. Gulmi
  6. Palpa
  7. Dang
  8. Pyuthan
  9. Rolpa
  10. East Rukum
  11. Banke
  12. Bardiya

Karnali Province: – There are 10 districts in Bagmati Pradesh. The district names are shown below.

  1. Western Rukum
  2. Salyan
  3. Dolpa
  4. Humla
  5. Jumla
  6. Kalikot
  7. Mugu
  8. Surkhet
  9. Dailekh
  10. Jajarkot

Sudurpashchim Province: – The district names are shown below.

  1. Kailali
  2. Achham
  3. Doti
  4. Bajhang
  5. Bajura
  6. Kanchanpur
  7. Dadeldhura
  8. Baitadi
  9. Darchula

Keep visiting our website for more information about the province and many more.

And also read,

Study in UK for Nepalese Citizen